This is our OLD Forums Archive. Please, to download all the files and join our new community, click here

We will keep publishing important updates about the medical entrance exams on EnterMedSchool.com

THE WORKLOAD AND RESPONSIBILITY OF STUDYING MEDICINE IN ITALY  

Serra
(@serra)
Eminent Member Team Member Medical Student

Medicine. Is. Hard. Especially studying it in Italy. Although not for the reasons you may think.

Hey guys, my name is Serra and I'm now a 5th year medical student in La Sap. I wrote this article when I was in 1st year and you can find the full version of it here on acadimat 🙂

It’s no secret that medicine is a lot of work. One of the hardest subjects to get into world-wide, with also one of the highest drop out rates.We are constantly bombarded by new information, topics and subjects, in detail I could have never imagined the possibility of.

The reason why studying medicine in Italy is particularly difficult is because, well, they expect you to be a responsible adult. For a lot of people (especially for me) this is a huge change from what I’m previously used to. As a notorious and chronic procrastinator I’ve been finding it a bit hard to flourish in this environment. Stressed trying to review the immense coursework we had in the limited amount of time I had. If only I was a responsible adult and did a little bit of work through out the year, how much easier it would have been.

There’s no need to study from morning till night, it’s a very manageable course if you’re efficient about it. Thankfully I learnt my lesson (even if it was the hard way) without having to finish first year with poor grades, however this was the most difficult thing I learnt in medical school so far.

Please hear my warning if you too are a chronic procrastinator. The responsibility is massive, you just need to keep on top of your revision by sacrificing an hour or two a week.

Topic starter Posted : 16/07/2020 11:20 pm
Oumshka liked
Oumshka
(@oumshka)
New Member IMAT