什麼是 IMAT 考試?– 在義大利就讀以英文授課的醫學系

什麼是 IMAT 考試?

IMAT代表國際醫學入學考試,是義大利公立醫學院的入學考試。 考試以英文進行,因為它是由一家名為 Cambridge Assessment 的英國公司編寫的,請查看他們的網站以了解更多信息。 如果你想在義大利以英語學習醫學,你必須參加 IMAT 並取得一個有競爭力的分數,這將是你進入該科系的唯一依據。 這次考試的分數決定了申請的成功與否。 因此,獲得高分至關重要。 但是,在我們開始學習之前,讓我們先了解一下考試的性質。

 

考試架構:

考試的形式是 60 道選擇題,所有問題都有 5 個可能的答案。 考試時間為 100 分鐘。 考試期間不允許使用計算器、字典或任何其他輔助工具。 

 

評分方式:

答題正確 = +1.5 分

答題錯誤 = -0.4 分

未作答= 0 分

最多得分= 90 分

 

考試形式:

第 1 部分 – 邏輯推理和基本知識

  • 基本知識 = 12 道題目
  • 邏輯推理 = 10 道題目

第 2、3、4 部分 – 科學 

  • 生物 = 18 道題目
  • 化學 = 12 道題目
  • 數學/物理 = 8 道題目(合併)

 

基本知識題由歷史、地理、政治、經濟體系、書籍、作者、著名哲學家、作家等各種主題組成。 簡而言之,IMAT的這一部分非常廣泛,涵蓋了眾多的文化主題 . 邏輯推理部分包括兩種主要類型的問題,批判性思維和問題解決。 

批判性思維涉及 7 種不同類型的問題: 

  1.  總結主要結論 
  2.  得出結論 
  3.  識別假設 
  4.  評估額外證據的影響 
  5.  檢測推理錯誤 
  6.  識別平行推理 
  7.  應用原則

問題解決主要包括評估數字和空間技能的問題。 

總體來說,邏輯推理部分不需要任何先前的知識來解決問題。 但是,重要的是要多做練習題,才能獲得高效解決問題的技能。 

 

科學部分涵蓋了此處列出的各種主題。 材料的深度相當於義大利的標準高中知識。 強烈建議將重點放在生物學和化學部分,因為它們佔考試題目的一半。

 

考試地點: 

IMAT 是在位於世界各地的指定測試中心編寫的。 目前,在義大利以外的國家有 22 個考試中心,在義大利有 12 個地點。 此處提到了 IMAT 2020 考試中心位置及其開始時間的所有列表。 請記住,考試中心及其位置可能每年都在變化。 請提前計劃好前往最近的考試地點的行程。

 

試日期:

MAT 通常在 9 月的第二週舉行,每年一次。 例如,IMAT 2021 將於 9 月 9 日星期四舉行。  

 

考試費用:

IMAT 考試報名費將在 universitaly 網站上註冊時支付。 費用可以用 3 種不同的貨幣支付,具體取決於您所在的位置。 同樣,請記住,這些費用可能會有所變化。

£114

€130

$164

 

註冊:

IMAT 的註冊通常在 7 月初開始,持續約 3 週。 2020 年,註冊從 7 月 1 日開始,到 7 月 23 日結束。整個過程在universitaly網站上完成,在非歐盟預科生完成預註冊程序後。 截止日期很嚴格,因此不要錯過報名窗口非常重要,提前計劃好所有安排。

你不能像 MCAT 那樣一年多次參加考試。 每年只有一次,且不能在當前的申請週期,使用往年的 IMAT 成績來申請。

相關文章

回覆

發佈留言必須填寫的電子郵件地址不會公開。 必填欄位標示為 *

這個網站採用 Akismet 服務減少垃圾留言。進一步了解 Akismet 如何處理網站訪客的留言資料

What Is the IMAT Exam? – Study Medicine in English in Italy

What is the IMAT?

IMAT stands for International Medical Admission Test, it is the entrance exam for Italian public medical schools. The exam is in English as it is composed by a British company called Cambridge Assessment, visit their website to learn more information. If you wish to study medicine in Italy, in English, you must take the IMAT and generate a competitive score that will be the sole basis of your admission to the program. The score on this exam determines the success of the application. Therefore, it is crucial to obtain a high score. However, before we jump into studying, let’s first learn about the nature of the exam. 

 

Exam Structure:

The format of the exam is 60 multiple choice questions with 5 possible answers for all questions. The length of the exam is 100 minutes. There are no calculators, dictionaries or any other aids allowed for the exam. 

 

Scoring:

Correct answer = +1.5 points

Incorrect answer = -0.4 points

Unanswered = 0 points

Maximum = 90 points

 

Exam Format:

Section 1 – Logical Reasoning and General Knowledge

  • General Knowledge = 12 questions
  • Logical Reasoning = 10 questions

Section 2,3, 4 – Science 

  • Biology = 18 questions
  • Chemistry = 12 questions
  • Math/Physics = 8 questions (combined)

 

The general knowledge questions consist of various topics that may include history, geography, politics, economic systems, books, authors, famous philosophers, writers, etc. In a nutshell, this section of the IMAT is extremely broad and covers a multitude of cultural topics. The logical reasoning sections consist of 2 main types of questions, critical thinking and problem-solving. 

Critical thinking involves 7 different types of questions: 

  1.  Summarising the main conclusion 
  2.  Drawing a conclusion 
  3.  Identifying an assumption 
  4.  Assessing the impact of additional evidence 
  5.  Detecting reasoning errors 
  6.  Identifying parallel reasoning 
  7.  Applying principles

Problem-solving primarily consists of questions that evaluate numerical and spatial skills. 

Overall, the logical reasoning section does not require any previous knowledge in order to solve the questions. However, it is important to do plenty of practice questions to gain the skills to solve the problems with high efficiency. 

 

The science sections cover a wide variety of topics that are listed here. The depth of the material is equivalent to the standard high school knowledge in Italy. It is highly recommended to focus on the biology and the chemistry sections as they make up half of the exam questions. 

 

Exam Location: 

The IMAT is written at designated testing centers that are stationed all around the world. Currently, there are 22 testing centers in countries outside of Italy and 12 locations in Italy. All the listings for the IMAT 2020 testing center locations and their start times are mentioned here. Keep in mind, testing centers and their locations may change every year. Please plan your travel to the nearest testing location well in advance. 

 

Exam Date:

The IMAT is typically held in the second week of September, once per year. For example, IMAT 2021 will be held on Thursday, September 9.  

 

Exam Cost:

The IMAT entry fee will be paid on the universitaly website during the registration. The fees can be paid in 3 different currencies, depending on your location. Again, keep in mind that these fees are subject to change.

£114

€130

$164

 

Registration:

The registration for the IMAT typically opens at the beginning of July and lasts for about 3 weeks. In 2020, the registration opened on July 1st and ended on July 23. The entire process is done on the universitaly website after the non-EU premeds have completed the Pre-Enrollment procedure. The deadlines are strict, thus it is important to not miss the window, and plan all the arrangements well ahead of time. 

You cannot take the exam multiple times a year like the MCAT. It is only available once per year, and you cannot use your IMAT score from previous years to apply for the current application cycle.

Related Articles

Responses

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.