This is our OLD Forums Archive. Please, to download all the files and join our new community, click here

We will keep publishing important updates about the medical entrance exams on EnterMedSchool.com

IMAT Exam Section Responses  

anushkagokani
(@anushkagokani)
New Member IMAT

Hi @ari

I'm a psychology graduate and thus, have no previous background in Science and Math (except for Math & Bio until IGCSE). So I'm really confused in terms of how to prioritise the subjects and their study. 

I had some questions:

1. Can I skip an entire section? for example - maybe not complete the physics questions 

2. The Pearson is hard to find right now, so would you recommend the Cambridge IB textbooks, Cambridge A Levels or Cambridge IGCSE texts for me to begin studying? 

3. Can I just learn parts from textbooks based on the IMAT portion, or would you recommend having learnt the entire textbook? 

Looking forward to hearing form you! 

Thank you, 

Anushka 

Topic starter Posted : 03/11/2020 7:48 am
Topic Tags
Ari Horesh
(@ari)
Noble Member Community Founder Medical Student

Hey @anushkagokani ,

You can skip as many questions as you want, but remember, the IMAT is very competitive. Each correct answer is 1.5 points, wrong answer is -0.4, and unmarked is 0. 

I would use IGCSE for chemistry and biology, but notice that they are probably not as detailed as A level books, especially for physiology and metabolism. 

Learning the entire book is low yield, and won׳t give you any benefit for the exam. 

Are you using our study planner?

I am planning on adding some books to the study planner, send the exact book names (and their edition), and I will do my best to add and edit the study planner as soon as possible (after my first semester)

For now, you should focus on the syllabus.

Ari.